Mini Bathroom Makeover

Have I said I love Pinterest? I just completed a mini make-over of our downstairs full bath for around $200 and was completely inspired by Pinterest. The tile and bathroom pieces are yellow and absolutely need a little updating but we are currently renovating a half-bath so a major renovation will have to wait. This room was looking quite dated with the floral Laura Ashley decor and I was hoping to tone down the yellow with a more neutral color pallet. Sorry I didn’t think to take a before picture but I did snap a picture of the old curtain and shower curtain. I’m a little ashamed to show the curtain and shower curtain but I could never find anything to go with that yellow so the bathroom was stuck in the 90’s.

Bath

After seeing so many great ideas on Pinterest I started to make some changes. I replaced the old lighting with an exterior light purchase at Home Depot. This idea is floating around Pinterest and is a smart solution. If a light can withstand the elements of the outside it is a great solution in an often humid bathroom. After removing the towel bar above the toilet I was able to install two shelves, also purchased at Home Depot, that added storage and decorative space. I purchased several accessories are from TJ Maxx. Nothing more to say about that other than if you see something you like at TJ Maxx, buy it because you’ll have remorse later that you missed a great find. I searched EVERYWHERE for a curtain and shower curtain but couldn’t find anything I really liked for the space. Thank you Remodelaholic for the inspiration to make my own from painter’s drop clothes purchased at Lowes. Total cost for the curtain and shower curtain – $25. Finally, I re-purposed the old step-stool from when the girls were toddlers with a can of flat spray paint and some furniture wax. I love the new look and I’m on to the next project.

Leave a Reply

