Craigslist Hunting

I have been searching for over a year for the perfect piece to add to my dining room. I know that is sad, but yes sometimes I’m slow to make decorating decisions. I had an empty wall in the dining room that looked completely naked, needed more storage and knew I wanted something that looked rustic. I found exactly what I wanted when visiting a local antique mall in Williamsburg, a jelly cabinet. The $500 price tag was more than I really wanted to spend so the Craigslist hunt was on. When searching Craigslist, it is important to be patient and diligent. When I’m on the hunt I check daily, don’t settle, and act quickly when I find something I like. After several months and a few missed opportunities I finally found just what I was looking for and the price was amazing, $40. Happy dance!

I’m really never leery when making Craigslist purchases to meet people at their house. This is mainly because I’m purchasing furniture and dealing with women. Seriously, I can’t imagine a Craigslist “creep-o” selling a buffet, hutch or cute little nightstand. It doesn’t seem likely but I do typically take my husband. Unfortunately this particular evening he was out-of town and I started to have second thoughts about my decision to go alone when I rolled up to the seller’s house. I went after work so it was dark and the house was in a “not so great” part of town. Additionally, the vertical pink and orange stripes on the exterior of the house along with the toilet in the landscaping filled with flowers left me feeling a little uneasy. I pushed myself out of my car and rang the bell. Tammy, the seller, informed me she was in the process of moving and had to squeeze 500 pounds of sh%$ into a five pound bag (her new 2 bedroom apartment). The jelly cabinet it turned out had been a roadside rescue her husband brought home. She’d always intended to refinish it but never had the time. After a handshake and an exchange of cash; Tammy generously helped me load it into my car. As we parted ways, she asked me to send her a picture of the jelly cabinet once I finished it. For this project I used my favorite refinishing tools: Citristrip, Rustoleum spray paint and Minwax finishing paste. I just love the finished product and I’m so glad I didn’t spend $500 at the antique mall. As soon as I finish this post I’m emailing a picture to Tammy and thanking her for selling the cabinet to me.

Leave a Reply

